ende
Wallpaintings o.T (c) David Reumüller

Wallpaintings o.T (c) David Reumüller

In his works, David Reumüller examines the properties of individual and cultural identity. His method is the reconstruction of images and generated images. The components of contemporary image production can be experienced on multiple levels in a parallel manner with video installations and photographies. Images are created that reference images – a perceptual experience that expands the fragility of our apparent linear reality. His productions create new landscapes from textures with veiling and covering. Reumüller displayed one of these landscapes within the context of Klanglicht at Dom im Berg.

David Reumüller was born in 1979; he lives and works in Graz and Sausal. Since 1997, Reumüller has worked as an artist, musician and film-maker on various interdisciplinary projects. In his paintings, he portrays usage surfaces such as textiles or fragments from façades for image and identity formation. Reumüller gives his work a special perspective as spatial images can only be observed in their entire spectrum and without distortion from one location. The location of the artist thus becomes identical with that of the observer.

„As the Tourism Association of the city of Graz, we believe it is important to set an example in the public space! For Graz, Klanglicht could represent something like a metaphorical start into a summer of culture!” (Hubert Pferzinger, Chairman Tourism Association Graz)

Location: Dom im Berg

ende
Wallpaintings o.T (c) David Reumüller

Wallpaintings o.T (c) David Reumüller

David Reumüller untersucht in seinen Arbeiten die Beschaffenheit von individueller und kultureller Identität. Seine Methode ist die Rekonstruktion von Abbild und generierten Images. Mit Videoinstallationen und Fotografien werden die Bausteine zeitgenössischer Bildproduktion auf mehreren Ebenen parallel erfahrbar gemacht. Es entstehen Bilder, die sich auf Bilder beziehen – eine Wahrnehmungserfahrung, die die Fragilität unserer vermeintlich linearen Realität erweitert. Bei seinen Inszenierungen durch Verhüllungen und Bedeckungen entstehen neue Landschaften aus Texturen. Eine dieser Landschaften zeigte Reumüller im Rahmen von Klanglicht im Dom im Berg.

David Reumüller wurde 1979 geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Graz sowie im Sausal. Seit 1997 arbeitet Reumüller als Künstler, Musiker und Filmemacher an verschiedenen interdisziplinären Projekten. In seinen Malereien inszeniert er Gebrauchsoberflächen, wie Textilien oder Fragmente von Fassaden, zur Image- bzw. Identitätsbildung. Indem Reumüller seinen Arbeiten eine spezielle Perspektive gibt, können die Raumbilder in ihrer ganzen Bandbreite und ohne Verzerrung lediglich von einem Standort aus betrachtet werden. Der Standort des Künstlers wird somit ident mit jenem des Betrachters.

„Seitens des Tourismusverbandes der Stadt Graz halten wir es für wichtig, im öffentlichen Raum Zeichen zu setzen! Klanglicht könnte für Graz so etwas wie den bildhaften Start in den Kultursommer markieren!“ (Hubert Pferzinger, Vorsitzender Tourismusverband Graz)

Standort: Dom im Berg