ende
A.R.T - Glow Festival

A.R.T – Glow Festival

In our daily lives, we are exposed to an ever-growing stream of sensory impressions vying for our attention. Two Dutch scientists, Rachel and Stephen Kaplan, have grappled with this issue. In their theory (“Attention Restoration Theory”, A.R.T), they claim that certain patterns in nature relax us and recharge our energy. According to this thesis, an installation has been created at Graz Stadtpark across a length of 200m. The area provides space for relaxation and counteracts the overflow of sensory impressions of the city. “A.R.T.” was also part of the festival “Glow Eindhoven 2016”.

The installation “A.R.T.” is an initiative of the Intelligent Lighting Institute (ILI) at Eindhoven University of Technology (NL) with the participation of Indre Kalinauskaite, Joep LeBlanc, Randi Nuij and Studio Philip Ross. Indre Kalinauskaite is a designer and researcher. Joep Le Blanc is a sound designer. Randi Nuij studies industrial design in Eindhoven. Philip Ross develops interactive light landscapes, has won several design awards and presented his works at various festivals.

“Creativity and the new world of energy are inextricably linked, even indispensable for each other.” Klanglicht is a wonderful example of this. We are delighted to be involved as a partner because we believe in the powerhouse of art.” (Christian Purrer, Executive Spokesman Energie Steiermark)

Location: Stadtpark/Burgring

A.R.T - Glow Festival

A.R.T – Glow Festival

In unserem Alltag sind wir einem wachsenden Strom an Sinneseindrücken ausgesetzt, die unsere Aufmerksamkeit fordern. Zwei niederländische Wissenschafter, Rachel und Stephen Kaplan, haben sich mit diesem Thema auseinandergesetzt. In ihrer Theorie („Attention Restauration Theory“, A.R.T) behaupten sie, dass gewisse Muster in der Natur es erlauben, uns zu entspannen, unsere Energie neu aufzuladen. Angelehnt an diese These wurde im Grazer Stadtpark auf einer Länge von 200m eine Installation geschaffen, die Raum für Erholung bietet und einen Gegenpol zu den vielen Sinneseindrücken einer Stadt bildet. „A.R.T.“ war auch Teil des Festivals „Glow Eindhoven 2016“.

Die Installation „A.R.T.“ ist eine Initiative des Intelligent Lighting Institute (ILI) der Technischen Universität Eindhoven (NL) unter Mitwirkung von Indre Kalinauskaite, Joep LeBlanc, Randi Nuij und Studio Philip Ross. Indre Kalinauskaite ist Designerin und Forscherin. Joep le Blanc ist Sound Designer. Randi Nuij studiert Industrial Design in Eindhoven. Philip Ross entwirft interaktive Lichtlandschaften, hat mehrere Design-Preise gewonnen und war mit seinen Arbeiten auf verschiedenen Festivals zu Gast.

„Kreativität und die neue Welt der Energie sind untrennbar miteinander verbunden, kommen ohne einander nicht aus. Klanglicht ist ein wunderbares Beispiel dafür. Weil wir an das Kraftwerk Kunst glauben, sind wir gerne als Partner mit dabei.“ (Christian Purrer, Vorstandssprecher Energie Steiermark)

Standort: Stadtpark/Burgring