ende

 

The Dutchman Rombout Frieling says the following about his concept: “Colours do not actually exist. They only exist in our minds. Colours are the result of complex processes of observation, comparison and adaptation.” A carpet of light and colour that was rolled out on the Opernring in front of the Next Liberty Youth Theatre proved that our eyes can play tricks on us. Slight changes in colouration bring about patterns, structures and waves. Completely different colours can, all of a sudden, have a uniform effect. What seems to be red, may be yellow when observed in a different light.

Rombout Frieling was born in 1983 and studied at Stanford University, Imperial College in London and the Royal College of Art. Today, he is primarily a designer and researcher, exploring how matter moves people. Together with his team, he develops projects that connect technology with human potential. Rombout is the inventor of “vertical walking”, which could, for the first time, be experienced at the Venice Biennale last year. He is also the founder of IKAWA, a social enterprise for the democratisation of the sale and distribution of coffee. For years, he has led the “Experimental Lab” of the Philips Lighting Institute in Eindhoven.

“For many people, light is not only something that is pleasant to the eyes, but essential for survival, especially in road traffic. A pedestrian with dark clothes is usually only noticed at a distance of 20 to 30 meters. In our everyday lives, bright, light-reflective clothing is an important protective measure in the evening and at night. Visibility is security. Remember that when it gets dark.” (DI Peter Felber, Kuratorium für Verkehrssicherheit)

Location: Next Liberty

ende

 

Der Niederländer Rombout Frieling sagt über sein Konzept: „Farben existieren gar nicht wirklich. Es gibt sie nur in unseren Köpfen. Sie sind das Ergebnis komplexer Prozesse der Beobachtung, des Vergleichs und der Anpassung.“ Ein Teppich aus Licht und Farbe, der am Opernring vor dem Next Liberty Kinder- und Jugendtheater ausgerollt wurde, stellte unter Beweis, dass die Augen uns so manche Streiche spielen. Durch leichte Veränderungen der Farbgebung kommen Muster, Strukturen und Wellen zum Vorschein. Gänzlich unterschiedliche Farben können auf einmal gleichförmig wirken. Was rot scheint, kann vielleicht auch gelb sein. In anderem Licht betrachtet.

Rombout Frieling, geboren 1983, studierte an der Stanford University, am Imperial College in London und dem Royal College of Art. Heute ist er primär als Designer und Forscher tätig, der sich damit beschäftigt, wie Materie den Menschen bewegt. Mit seinem Team entwickelt er Projekte, die Technologie mit menschlichem Potenzial verbinden. Rombout ist der Erfinder des „vertikalen Gehens“ („vertical walking“), das vergangenes Jahr auf der Biennale in Venedig erstmals zu erleben war. Außerdem ist er Gründer von IKAWA, einem sozialen Unternehmen zur Demokratisierung des Kaffeevertriebs. Er leitete jahrelang das „Experimental Lab“ des Philips Lighting Institute in Eindhoven.

„Für viele Menschen ist Licht nicht nur schön anzusehen, sondern auch überlebensnotwendig, besonders im Straßenverkehr. Ein Fußgänger mit dunkler Kleidung ist meist erst aus 20 bis 30 Metern zu erkennen. Im abendlichen und nächtlichen Alltag ist helle und lichtreflektierende Kleidung daher ein wichtiger Schutz. Sichtbarkeit ist Sicherheit. Denken Sie daran, wenn es dunkel wird.“ (DI Peter Felber, Kuratorium für Verkehrssicherheit)

Standort: Next Liberty